Committees and Caucuses

Congressman Jake Ellzey serves on:

House Appropriations Committee

The House Appropriations Committee is responsible for writing the legislation that allocates federal funds to the numerous government agencies, departments, and organizations on an annual basis.

Twelve subcommittees are tasked with drafting legislation to allocate funds to government agencies within their jurisdictions. These subcommittees are responsible for reviewing the President's budget request, hearing testimony from government officials and other witnesses, and drafting the spending plans for the coming fiscal year. Their work is passed on to the full House Appropriations Committee, which may review and modify the bills and approve them for consideration by the full House.

The twelve subcommittees are as follows:

  1. Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration
  2. Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies
  3. Defense
  4. Energy and Water Development, and Related Agencies
  5. Financial Services and General Government
  6. Homeland Security
  7. Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies
  8. Labor, Health and Human Services, Education
  9. Legislative Branch
  10. Military Construction, Veterans Affairs, and Related Agencies
  11. State, Foreign Operations, and Related Programs
  12. Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies